Carpet shop interior sketch class

carpet shop watercolor sketch

From our class at Loominous Rugs in Providence, RI.  Once again our approcah was to choose a focal point and build the picture around that. 8″x10″, Watercolor and pen on aqua board panel.

Below is a photo reference of my subject, heres my approach: I

1. chose the ornamental grasses as my focal point 2. worked small in order to make room for a ground plane 3. emphasized the colors and shapes that pleased me 4. compressed the space so that I could fit in more shapes and colors 5. put the brick wall on both sides of the carpet 6. changed the shape of the carpet in the foreground.

loominous_reference

Leave a Reply

