red socks with piano and violin duet

red socks, violin, piano

From a unexpected (to me) parlor performance. It was a sketch-it-now-paint-it-later process: I made the bit of pencil sketch last night in the tiny sketchbook and added color this morning.

I think what made me dive for the sketchbook were the shape of the hair mirroring the dress in the musician on the left, the dark, generous ponytail and (Quentin Blake) tiny-ness of the musician on the right, then the red socks appeared. (Too bad I didn’t get the distance between them and the enormity of the piano.) The music was cautiously deliberate and engrossing, I wanted it to continue.

Leave a Reply

