wild apple and yellow butterfly study

IMG_9189

I made this to help me think about how I might paint these in oil today. I found the wild apple yesterday on a drive over to the county and the butterfly was by the side of the road. The field around the apple tree had a lot of purple asters and goldenrod with many of these lovely pale yellow butterflies.  I just looked this up and it is not a moth after all but a migrating butterfly, called, if I have it right this time, a cloudless sulpher. These tiny yellow creatures are getting ready to begin a  thousand mile journey south. Pencil, watercolour and gouache.

One thought on “wild apple and yellow butterfly study

Leave a Reply

