watercolor class

old state house thumbnailoldstatehouse composition

Last Thursday watercolor class focused on the Old State House in Providence.  Above is a thumbnail sketch: a quick attempt to identify my composition and the proportions of my subject. Below, in my watercolor notebook, I roughly penciled in the shapes of my composition, identified the foreground, then used watercolor to put down the shadows that caught my eye- aiming to maintain the lights- and the sky thats sets off the bright building top.

old state house sketch   state house watercolor

In the last stage I have intensified the darks, added some color to the lights and worked on the greens.

watercoloroldstate

Such a pleasure to be painting outside on a beautiful day. Here’s to another this afternoon!

One thought on “watercolor class

Leave a Reply

