finding the story

cross countryWhile waiting for my son’s cross country race yesterday afternoon. Other children waiting for the race chatted with me.  I was surprised by how complementary and enthusiastic they were though it seemed to me that there was barely anything at all on the page.  A canny reminder to my-self of something I spend a lot of time trying to explain, that the magic is in the process not the product.

I talked about finding the drawing a little bit at a time and their questions made for good conversation: “Are you painting?”,”Why is your picture crossing into the next page?” “Is that person posing for you?” “Are you a professional artist?” “That’s my dad!”   

In making time to listen for the story of this sketch page I found so much life around me. 

Leave a Reply

