quick duck study

IMG_9138

I read Margaret’s post from today about listening for stories and how that idea carries into her practice as an artist.

I feel much the same way as Margaret about this,  in that no matter how much I would have wanted something different, in the end, I can only make the painting and drawings that I know how to make. That’s all I can do.  The picture in my head or the one someone else made is not the one that gets made when I do it. I also always find more once I am in there than I saw in the beginning and I am not always sure of what I am after or what pulled me in at the beginning either. Sometimes I find it just from making it, or see beautiful opportunities visually to seize and take enormous delight in after the work has begun.

Leave a Reply

