Listening for the story

“Long before I wrote stories, I listened for stories. Listening for them is something more acute than listening to them…Listening children know stories are there… just waiting and hoping for one to come out, like a mouse from its hole.”  -Eudora Welty, One Writer’s Beginnings.

corgis in the morning

Today when I logged on to wordpress to post this picture of the dogs I found this Eudora Welty quotation-saved as a draft from some other moment I can no longer remember- I don’t appear to have posted it.  So here’s the quotation along with Lizzie and Albert encountering the world.

I think I do the same thing as an artist, I look for the pictures.  but that idea might obscure the important fact that the picture takes shape only after I begin, and will become something else than what I first envisioned. Also that attention itself often makes the story, or perhaps this quotation underlines that fact?  Her “listing for stories” might be translated to an artist “looking” for a picture by putting marks on the page…

4 thoughts on “Listening for the story

  1. I love your dog painting and the story that my imagination follows. I recently painted a fantasy of a forest and I have gotten so many interesting stories from people upon their seeing and commenting on it. So different from my story.

Leave a Reply

