color and pattern at Peaceable Kingdom

 

carpets watercolor

There was so much to choose from, I wanted to give myself a chance to try several things.  I began with the coat then then the bells (below).  In the carpet room, I used my sketchbook lengthwise and started at the top with a carpet hanging on the wall. I then worked my way down through the pile of rugs. It was enjoyable to see how the sketch unfolded as it moved, I was happily surprised at the horizontal lavender and turquoise stripes that appeared at the bottom to anchor the composition. My aim was to roughly approximate some of the colors and aspects of the patterns I was seeing and in a short amount of time. To that end I picked out a few shapes and colors to focus on and excluded many others.

bellssari coat

Leave a Reply

